Review: “A Court of Mist and Fury” by Sarah J. Maas

17927395


“For love she cheated death. For her world she will become a weapon.”


synopsis

Thanks to the powers of the seven High Lords, Feyre was reborn and now has powers of a High Fae. With Amarantha’s defeat, they can finally have a chance at peace. But all is not well. Even though they survived the horrific experiences they went through in Under the Mountain, Feyre struggles to cope up with the psychological wounds that her experiences left her. Tamlin, even more so. And she hasn’t forgotten the bargain she made with Rhysand either. 

However, a greater threat than Amarantha looms in the shadows, threatening to destroy everything that she had fought for. If she can master her gifts, navigate her way through the dark web of faerie politics and overcome her past, she might be able to put a stop to it.

13459548_10206889555825341_465212497_n

If you have read and liked the first book in the ACOTAR series, then you’re going to love this one even more! A Court of Mist and Fury, or simply known as ACOMAF, is something that goes beyond words. It’s phenomenal, obsessive, thrilling, very well-written – there’s just no way you cannot love it.

WHAT I LIKE ABOUT IT

  • No dull moments. That’s the beauty of this book. Every turn of every page, there is always something going on. The story might have started off on a slightly depressing note but as the story goes, it gradually gets better and better until you can no longer focus on anything else but the story. It’s like every chapter greets you with a new twist and you don’t ever have to worry about getting bored.
  • Addition of new characters. Maas introduced a whole new cast of characters in this book. New allies, new villains, and they are all very interesting. Most of them have their own unique personalities, history, abilities and set of goals. Some of them feels just like people that we know. I even feel strongly towards our new villains. And I love how Maas was able to weave deep and complex relationships between them all.
  • An emotional rollercoaster. This is one of the things I most look for in a book – emotion. And ACOMAF has certainly given me plenty. I loved how this story toyed with my emotions. I laughed, cried, got scared and angry. I was touched by their experiences. I enjoyed all their banters. Got happy for their successes and sympathized with their woes. To be able to produce such a heart-rending story, Maas is indeed an incredible writer.
  • The romantic spin. In here, Feyre’s life takes an unexpected turn. Rhysand’s involvement gives us the spice we were looking for that was lacking in the last book. Maas has really stepped up the romance so much that it has made a real difference to the story. You can really feel the love between them now but it’s not just physical attraction anymore. The emotions displayed here really sent me over the edge and I had to keep hiding so my Mom won’t see my tears. But it’s not all about drama either. There were plenty of times I had laughed too. Feyre’s banters with Rhys are so entertaining they made me laugh so much. I really love, love, love the chemistry between them. They fit together in so many ways that Feyre and Tamlin could never have. The other new characters also have their own tangled lovelives to deal with as well so there’s no way we’re getting bored of them any soon.
  • Discovering new places and epic adventures. I think this is was the most enjoyable part of all. Unlike in the first book, Feyre is no longer confined to one place and she can now freely explore and discover new things (all thanks to our beloved Rhysand). I especially enjoyed reading about their missions – my favourite ones being their trip to the Summer Court, the Bone Carver, and the Weaver. The fighting scenes were very gripping too; I have to hold my breath every time they went to a dangerous place or during those times when they barely escaped. Their adventures are simply amazing and highly thrilling.
  • Character development. Remember our old characters from the first book? They’ve all levelled up too. Although some of them like Lucien and Tamlin took a backseat for a while, they later returned more interesting than ever. I can no longer say Tamlin is a passive character or that Lucien is just his faithful sidekick. Rhysand had also obviously become more active in this book, taking away most of the spotlight. We got to see more of him especially now that he’s back in his home court. Even Feyre surprises us. She’d survived, had went through an ultimate change in the last book, and now she goes through another drastic transformation and comes out stronger than ever. Hell, even her sisters Nesta and Elain were playing a crucial role in this book too.
  • New villains. Can I just say… King of Hybern is a whole other league above Amarantha. But does he have a name? He’s only shown himself in the last parts of the book but he’s already had a big impression on me! There’s something about him that makes me think… here is a man who would be hard to take down. Even the description of his domain gives me the creeps. However, I don’t get why Jurian is siding with the king. And the mortal queens, oh I just loathe them. They are so self-absorbed and ambitious. They don’t care if they kill one of their own just to achieve their own ends.
  • Surprises. This book never runs out of one.
  • Writing style. Maas really knows how to create tension, the right amount of pacing, how to weave scenes and conflicts together and make them fit perfectly without being unrealistic. Everything – the plot twists, the conflict, and the dialogues – they all make perfect sense to me. Maas’ writing also has its way of making readers feel as if they are also part of the epic adventure.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE

  • Rhysand’s lack of POVs (LOL). There wasn’t anything huge I didn’t like about this book, to be honest. But if I have to nitpick a little bit, I’d say it’s how I wish the author gave Rhysand more POVs!
  • Cliffhanger!!! This is what I dislike most about series. The fact you have to wait a long time before the next book comes. I’m overflowing with anticipation right now but what about tomorrow? What about the next month, and the one after that? I’m so scared my interest will dwindle out before the third book arrives. Because I love ACOMAF so much, and I don’t want to lose my attachment to it. However I love cliffhangers too, exactly because they keep the suspense going. According to Goodreads, the expected publication of the next book will be on 2017. So until then, I’ll  have to do my best to keep myself updated amidst all the other books waiting in my TBR pile.

VERDICT

Overall, I can truthfully, sincerely say from my heart that I enjoyed reading this book. It’s successfully turned me into a raving fangirl. Plus it gave me a whole lot of inspiration and ideas for my work. I highly recommend it to everyone, though I would beware again those who have any issues regarding sexual content that this book may not be to your taste. Regardless of the mature content, it’s still a frickin’ awesome book and I’m urging those of you who haven’t tried it yet to PICK UP ACOTAR AND ACOMAF AND READ BOTH BOOKS.  It’s going to leave you so thrilled and excited for the next one. Hopefully, the third book is going to surpass our expectations again! 🙂

ratings

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5 stars

11 thoughts on “Review: “A Court of Mist and Fury” by Sarah J. Maas

  1. thriceread says:

    Ahhh! You hit it right on the nose with your review. I wasn’t a huge fan of ACOTAR, I thought it was good, but I hated Tamlin. I was, however, intrigued by Rhys, so the end of ACOTAR gave me hope.
    I thought Rhys and Feyre’s interactions were incredible. And the new characters were a great addition. Like you, I hate cliffhangers, but this was a situation where I didn’t mind it. It left me thinking about what the next book could entail which has turned into me speculating about every little detail and essentially counting down the days until the book is released.

    Great review!

    – Eden

    Liked by 1 person

    • alovelornvirgoblog says:

      Thanks Eden 😄
      I’m also itching to know what will happen next for the characters. I’ve got my own theories but most of them are not good. Hope I’m wrong. 😫
      But yayyy I’m so glad to know you’re on Team Rhysand too. LOL 😂😍

      Liked by 1 person

      • thriceread says:

        My theories are very gruesome. There are just too many moving pieces for things to go completely smoothly in the next book, but fingers crossed we’re both wrong.
        I’ll be team dreamers forever.

        Liked by 1 person

    • thriceread says:

      See I can’t see that happening. He crossed a line with Feyre at the end of ACOMAF. I can’t see her getting over that so easily. I am curious about how she’s going to handle any sexual encounters with him while she’s with Rhys. It’s going to be so crazy.

      Like

  2. alovelornvirgoblog says:

    Hahaha… I know! That’s why I’m worried.
    But I think Feyre’s going to forgive him anyway. Even if I don’t like Tamlin it doesn’t mean I want him to be a villain forever. 😦 And you know what? I think that Nesta has absorbed some special powers and that she and Cassian are actually mates. Hope I’m right on this one.
    Really…I have so many predictions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

