Book Review: “The Great Hunt” by Wendy Higgins

Hey guys! I’m back again for another review. 🙂

This time I’m going to introduce to you another book that made me fall in love at first sight. I’m talking about The Great Hunt written by New York’s bestselling author Wendy Higgins. It’s a fantasy novel, so naturally, I was all fired up to read it at once that I even stopped reading Even If The Sky Falls halfway through just so I could start reading this one. (Apologies, Miss Mia Garcia a.k.a author of EITSF)

The Great Hunt is only the first book of the Eurona Duology and already I am excited to read the next one. But before that, I would first like to share my thoughts on The Great Hunt.

22428707


“Kill the beast Win the girl.”


synopsis
When a strange beast terrorizes the kingdom of Lochlanach, fear stirs revolt. In an act of desperation, a proclamation is sent to all of Eurona—kill the creature and win the ultimate prize: the daughter of King Lochson’s hand in marriage.

Princess Aerity knows her duty to the kingdom but cannot bear the idea of marrying a stranger…until a brooding local hunter, Paxton Seabolt, catches her attention. There’s no denying the unspoken lure between them…or his mysterious resentment.

Paxton is not the marrying type. Nor does he care much for spoiled royals and their arcane laws. He’s determined to keep his focus on the task at hand—ridding the kingdom of the beast—but the princess continues to surprise him, and the perilous secrets he’s buried begin to surface.

Inspired by the Grimm Brothers’ tale “The Singing Bone,” New York Times bestselling author Wendy Higgins delivers a dark fantasy filled with rugged hunters, romantic tension, and a princess willing to risk all to save her kingdom.    –    Goodreads

13459548_10206889555825341_465212497_n

So, without further ado, here are my thoughts.

WHAT I LIKED ABOUT IT:

  • The cover. As you can see below, the book cover portrays a red-haired lass in the middle of the woods, which instantly reminded me of Merida from the Disney movie “Brave”. That was my first impression. Interested to see if it has any similarities with the movie, I decided to check it out for myself. And boy was I happy to find out that it was nothing like I expected!

 

 

  • Princess Aerity isn’t your typical heroine. She lacks that aggressiveness and sass that many female protagonists usually have in most fantasy novels. But I don’t mind it in this situation. Aerity is amazing in her own way – and she really sets herself apart from others. With her acrobatic skills and sweet and strong personality, you surely won’t forget her.
  • The concept. For this novel, Higgins used “The Singing Bone” as the inspiration behind it. It’s actually a Grimms’ fairytale and I’ve never heard about it until THIS. Like the clueless person I am, I googled it on the web and finally learned what it was all about. The fairytale and the novel are actually almost the same, except for the part where the brothers and the scope of the hunt are concerned. And I have to say… Higgins chose a great concept for the story. It’s quite original and far from the overrated fairytales that I’ve come across.
  • Involvement of magic users. Of course, what’s a fantasy novel without a little magic? In this case, the magic users here are called the Lashed. The Lashed are people who could heal, grow plants and more but are also capable of killing with one touch. (Sounds cool and scary at the same time, right?) Although there are some good Lashed you will meet here, most of them are mistreated because of an incident that happened in the past.

 

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE:

  • I fell for the misleading cover. The picture told me that the heroine of the story was a girl with red hair – but then I find out it’s not. I know Higgins mentioned it on her blog (I read her post after reading the book), but it still puts readers like me into confusion mode for a while. Luckily, I came to love Aerity so much that I didn’t mind.
  • Multiple point of views. I’m actually a fan of multiple points of views, but not on this one, especially since it’s written in third person. I found it all a little bit confusing. Sometimes I’m confused who’s talking that I have to reread several times a particular sentence or paragraph just to clarify.
  • The cast of characters and their relationships. I was really torn over the situations of the characters. Some of them are just so frustrating and lacking in depth. However, I can tell you at least that one of my favorites was the relationship between Paxton and his brother Tiern. Despite their contrasting personalities, you can see how strong their bond is as brothers. 
  • The hunt itself. Truth be told, this was the part that held most of my expectations. Sadly, I was thoroughly disappointed by the lack of excitement in the actual hunt itself. There was just something lacking and it didn’t stir my excitement the way it’s supposed to. The direction it took was too predictable. Plus… it’s supposed to be a competition – and yet it doesn’t feel like one. I would’ve liked to see more showcasing of skills and more rivalry over the princess. But there was no question at all who was going to fall in love with whom – and there was no question which among the hunters would be left when it came to the last stand. 

 

VERDICT:

The Great Hunt wasn’t as epic as I expected it to be. I’ve realized that since the middle part of the book. It didn’t have the flair I was looking for but still, I don’t regret ever reading it. There were a lot of holes and flaws in the story, but it also left me with several speculations that I’m looking forward to confirm in the next book. I have a long list of things to say more on the book but I’m going to stop here for now. I hoped you enjoy. See you all until my next review!

 

ratings

⭐⭐⭐  3 stars

One thought on “Book Review: “The Great Hunt” by Wendy Higgins

Leave a Reply

