The NetGalley Book Tag

ng

It wasn’t until recently that I decided to join NetGalley.

Back then, I was this little thing who was scared that none of her requested books will ever get approved. But those fears were banished right away once I got my first ARC. Even now, I still get a rush of delight every time one of my requests gets approved, and faint disappointment whenever I receive rejection. But that’s the thing with NetGalley, you either hit or miss.

So now that I have some free time, I can finally do this tag, which by the way  I’d like to thank Caitlynn @ThriceRead for. She, Eden & Jenn are my favorite trio of bloggers, you guys should definitely stop by their blog some time if you don’t know them already.


RULES:

🍃 Link back to the tag’s creator (Kourtni Reads)

🍃 Thank and link back to the person who tagged you.

🍃 Answer the questions the best you can. If you don’t use NetGalley, you can substitute other sites or places where you get books!

🍃 Tag a few people to do this too.

Okay so… Let’s get started!


a1

Who’s one author whose books you automatically want to read, regardless of what they’re about?

I don’t really believe in “auto-approved” authors but if I had to choose, it would be any of the following people: Nicholas Sparks, S.J. Maas, Sophie Kinsella, Sarah Dessen, Romina Russell and Colleen Hoover. 🙂


a2

What makes you want to request a book that you see on NetGalley?

You know that feeling when you never really know what you’re looking for until you actually find it? That’s the kind of feeling I get when choosing ANY kind of book – be it a physical copy, an ARC, or an ebook. Basically, I just request whatever catches my attention. The ones I usually avoid though are books with synopses that scream cliche.


a3

Do you review every book you read? If not, how do you decide what books to review?

Most of the time? Nope. It usually depends on my mood or the strength of my reaction towards a certain book that decides if I want to review it or not. If I’m not feeling up to it, well.. I can just resort to Twitter and vent out my feelings or chat with the other bloggers and authors out there. With NetGalley ARCs though, it’s different. I feel obliged to make a review for each one since they were sent to me directly by the publisher.


a4

If you could create your own badge to display on your blog, what would it be for?

Somebody please make me a Worst Planner Badge. Seriously, I am TERRIBLE at planning. I create endless lists and schedules everyday, but in the end I fail to follow any of them. Don’t get me wrong. I love organization (a natural Virgo trait) but I hate routine. And I work better when I don’t think of my work as an obligation.


a5

What’s one book that you are absolutely dying to read?

Forget the hype. If I’m being completely honest with myself, I’m most definitely aching to read Romina Russell’s 3rd installment of her Zodiac series – Black Moon. It actually comes out this December so *pulls sleeves up* I can’t wait until then. Unfortunately, I can’t find an ARC of it on NetGalley. *cries*


a6

What was the last book that you received as an ARC that you reviewed? If you’ve never received an ARC, what’s the last book you reviewed?

The last ARC I reviewed was Children of Icarus by Caighlan Smith. It was quite underwhelming to be honest but I could still remember the dark, twisted emotions this book conjured within me. You can read my review of it here if you haven’t yet already. Currently, I’m working on another ARC review about a contemporary time-travel novel, which I will be posting anytime next week.


I TAG:

May @ Sunsets and Bookfests

Amanda @ Book Opinions Site

And anyone who’s interested in doing this tag!! 🙂

Until my next post everyone!

Have a great day. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The NetGalley Book Tag

  1. Diana says:

    I love this tag. I just joined NetGalley in June. Embarrassed to admit but ended up requesting for almost 40 books because I thought most would be rejected especially due to my location. 32 were accepted though. Its been fun but now I want to take a break. Last ARC that i read was Wrecked by Maria Padian. I haven’t read any new Nicholas Sparks in a while but would definitely request if I saw any books by him, Kinsella or Hoover. Yet to read the Sarah Dessen books though I have heard a lot about them.Great post, i liked all your answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay Alonzo says:

      That’s fine. At least we both know better now. 😂 But really.. you should try one of Sarah Dessen’s books. Her book – This Lullaby – is one of her best works in my opinion.

      And awwe.. thank you very much for that compliment. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

