ARC Review: Waking In Time by Angie Stanton

angie-stanton-waking-in-time


Title: Waking in Time •

Author:Angie Stanton •

Date of Publication: March 01, 2017  •

Publisher: Switch Press •

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Teens & YA •

Rating: 3 ❤❤❤


synopsis

Abby Thorp is a University of Wisconsin college freshman who’s mourning the death of her grandmother. Shortly after arriving on campus, she wakes up to find herself in the same dorm – more than 30 years earlier.

That is only her first stop on a trip back in time that leads Abby to discover secrets of her family’s past as well as a handsome boy who claims to know her.


 

13459548_10206889555825341_465212497_n

** I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**

Hello, lovelies!

Today I’m going to introduce to you this new book of Angie Stanton’s, the well-known author of Royally Lost.

This is one of those books that I neither loved nor hated. So I’m going to give you guys a brief review.

Let’s start with the pros.

First of all, Waking In Time is a short read and finishable in one sitting. This is perfect for those who are looking for a simple, laid-back book to read. Me? I savored the entire book in one lazy afternoon.

Second, I like the concept of this story. It seemed quite original to me. Since time travel is involved, I already expected it to be complicated. But I’ve never encountered a time-travel story in which one protagonist fixedly travels backwards in time while the other travels forward.

Third, I like the mystery factor. I did not see that revelation coming, even though I should’ve had. I’m quite annoyed at myself for not predicting it earlier. (LOL) But that aside, I also like the little surprises this book had in store for me.

Fourth, that cover!!! It’s just so pretty and perfectly sets the mood and tone of the story. Wish we could also see that carving in the story on her bed though.

Fifth, I’m happy with the overall pace of the story. Admittedly, I was annoyed at the beginning since I didn’t see clearly where all of this was going. But after several chapters, the story finally took a direction and from there, things got a bit more interesting.

 

Okay… That was a lot of pros. I didn’t expect them to be that many as I was writing this.

And now let’s move on to my cons…..

 

I think the worst part of it all was my lack of emotional connection to the characters. I was hoping to relate with the main character Abbi, since she is a college student and all. However, even though the story is set in a college campus, the story doesn’t revolve around her campus life at all. And to be honest, I don’t really know much about her personality except that she wants to solve this mystery of her grandmother’s last wish. The other characters also felt one-sided.

Despite that, I have to say my favorite character here is Professor Smith. His geekiness is very much endearing.

My next issue with this book is the insta-yet-not-instalove. You’ll know what I mean when you read the story. Basically, I’m just not convinced by their relationship. But I guess in a fantastical story such as this, anything goes. I’m just saying I’m not a big fan of Abbi and Will’s tandem.

I also don’t feel quite into the setting of the story. Each time period is supposed to have its own unique details, right? However, I can’t portray them all very well in my head. I just don’t feel ‘there’… if that makes any sense. Maybe this feeling also had to do with the dialogues, since their conversations sounded somehow sophisticated even in the older times.

All in all, I think this novel of Angie Stanton’s makes a satisfactory contemporary read. I don’t read enough time-travel books and I’m glad I found this one. (Quick fact: My favorite time-travel book so far is Outlander.) I also can’t wait to read her other books, Royally Lost, Under the Spotlight and so many others that have been resting on my TBR for a while now.

I would also like to express my heartfelt appreciation towards the author for taking the risks of adding a fantasy aspect to her book. I read in one of her interviews that she doesn’t really write much outside her main genre. And her execution may not be perfect, but I applaud her for taking the effort. I do sincerely wish she doesn’t stop writing outside of her comfort zone. (Note: I apologize if I’m presuming too much.😆)

 

So I guess that wraps it all up. Pretty soon, I’ll be posting another review and hopefully, an interview with this brilliant author.

 

‘Til next time, everyone!

-Jay ♍

 

Leave a Reply

