ARC Review: Just My Luck by Andrea Bramhall

justmyluck


šŸ’® BOOK DETAILSĀ šŸ’®

Title: Just My Luck

Author: Andrea Bramhall

Publisher: Ylva Publishing

Publication Date: September 7, 2016

Source: NetGalley

Genre: Women’s Fiction, LGBTQIA, Romance

RATING: 3.5

Goodreads | AmazonĀ |Ā Kobo


 

synopsis

Genna Collins works a dead end job, loves her family, her girlfriend, and her friends. When she wins the biggest Euromillions jackpot on record everything changesā€¦and not always for the best.

When Abi Kitson fell in love she always knew it would go unrequited. The woman of her dreams was so close yet seemingly untouchable for so many reasons. Reasons like ā€“ they are best friends, or the big age gap, or the ā€˜otherā€™ woman, nevermind Abiā€™s own baggage. And even when those reasons crumble it seems luck just isnā€™t on her side.

Itā€™s a learning curve for both of them. But what if money really canā€™t buy you everything you want? What if the answers arenā€™t hidden in a big, fat bank balance? What if happiness is right in front of them? They just have to reach outā€¦


 

13459548_10206889555825341_465212497_n

Let me just say this, the first half of this story was pretty amazing.Ā It isn’t just the fact that Genna won the lottery, I meanĀ yeah she’s a lesbian, but one with a pretty hugeĀ heart. I guess that is one of the main reasons I was drawn to Genna’s character, aside from her irresistible wit and sense of humor. Oh yes, this story’s got plenty of humor for sure, I can’t count how many times I laughed my ass off at some of the lines.

And then there’s Abi. Well, after reading the entire book, I still don’t know what to make of Abi. It’s obvious from the very first page that Genna and Abi are totally in love with each other, and I could already see where this was going, but meh.. I don’t really know much about Abi except that she loves both Genna and Rosie (her child), very very much. One of the POVs was written in her perspective, but I really have no reaction to her or whatsoever.

But when it came to the second half of the story, I was getting pretty bored. The 2nd half focuses on Genna and Abi’s relationship more than anything else. Hell, there was even that part where Genna’s best friend, Claire, drags her into boot camp and I didn’t see how that particular piece was relevant to the whole story, maybe except to show just how deep Genna’s insecurities about her body went. For the rest though, I keep getting plagued with thoughts of ‘I love her but I can’t tell her’ and all that shit, whichĀ I hated with a passion. I mean, there really is no need to draw this out longer than it has to. The whole world knows they’re in love with each other, but the only ones who don’t know it are they themselves. It was pretty annoying the way they kept going around in circles.

Then hallelujah they finally got together. And it annoyed me again as the author included a lot of unnecessary drama to prolong the conflict. Honestly, there were a lot of potential scenarios their story could’ve gone with. Plus – I’m not going to kid myself – I felt just a bit awkward reading their sex scenes. Maybe it’s because I don’t read much LGBT or something, but yeah, it was a little weird. Sometimes though, in their intimate scenes, I keep forgetting that Abi is a girl ’causeĀ her lines seemedĀ characteristically male. However, I do have to say that IĀ love the emotions that wereĀ evoked here.

I think my favorite character here was Rosie, Abi’s kid who has Down’s syndrome. If you read the story, you’ll know why I stuck with it. And one of those reasons is Rosie. She’s a major source for good vibes. She’ll touch your heart, and she can make you laugh in a matter of seconds in the most unexpected times. This kid is really awesome.Ā Bless her pure soul.

In regards to the writing style, I like the way this book talks to the reader directly. May be it wasĀ moreĀ informal than usual. But it kinda feels like you’re just chatting with a friend, and you instantly form a connection with them. It’s fairlyĀ easy to read, very comfortable and a lot more fun than I expected. My only complaint though was that crappy, rushed ending that doesn’t deserve to be called an ending.

Overall,Ā Just My Luck is a very enjoyable book –Ā one that I kept reading until dawn even though I had an examĀ that day. And I hope you guys will give it a try as well.

Have a good day everyone! šŸ™‚

Cheers,

Jay ā™


MEET THE AUTHOR

Andrea Bramhall wrote her first novel at the age of six and three-quarters. It was seven pages long and held together with a pink ribbon. Her Gran still hasĀ it in the attic. Since then she has progressed a little bit and now has a number of published works held together with glue, not ribbons, an Alice B. Lavender certificate, and a Lambda Literary award cluttering up her book shelves.

She studied music and all things arty at Manchester Metropolitan University, graduating in 2002 with a BA in contemporary arts. She is certain it will prove useful somedayā€¦ maybe.

When she isnā€™t busy running a campsite and hostel on the North Norfolk Coast, Bramhall can be found hunched over her laptop scribbling down the stories that wonā€™t let her sleep. She can also be found reading, walking the dogs up mountains while taking a few thousand photos, scuba diving while taking a few thousand photos, swimming, kayaking, playing the saxophone, or cycling.

Find her on:

https://andreabramhall.wordpress.com

Other books by Andrea Bramhall:

Collide-O-Scope

Ladyfish

Clean Slate

Leave a Reply

