Icarus Rising Review

icarus-rising-prof


BOOK DETAILS:

Title: Icarus Rising

Type: Series (Book 1)

Author: N.W. Moors

Publication: Sept. 6, 2016 by Sunday Morning Publishing

Genre: Fantasy, Romance

Rating: 1 star

Amazon || Barnes & Noble || Indie Bookstore || Goodreads


 

SYNOPSIS: After his fall to Earth, Icarus has been in Hell, punished for his hubris. When he wins a chance at parole, he’s thrilled – except for the set of wings attached to his body.

Eve Gregory runs a small bookstore in northern Connecticut. When she hires the handsome stranger to work for her, she doesn’t know the secrets he’s hiding. Or that becoming involved with him will embroil her with the Greek gods and goddesses.

Icarus and Eve must perform a quest set down for them by Zeus. If they are successful, will that be end of their relationship? Or will love teach them a new way to soar?


 

MY REVIEW:

(** Special thanks to Netgalley and Sunday Morning Publishing for providing me a digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.)

After a promising start, I was eager to see how Icarus deals with his new life but I am terribly disappointed by the direction this story took. Some gods keep stalking and harassing him, like Apollo and Artemis, whose reasons we were meant to believe was because they couldn’t let go of their grudge. But what’s more unbelievable is that Artemis is angrier at him because Icarus was supposed to fawn all over her beauty and superiority. Well.. I thought that Artemis was also a goddess of chastity? So why is she so vain? And Athena.. she’s supposed to be smart, calm and collected but we were given a whiny, college brat version of her. All in all, I thought the Greek mythology concept was poorly executed, as is the romance factor. I’m not averse to the insta-love but I don’t think it worked in this case. AND ha-ha.. the wings-coming-out-during-sex part had me laughing pretty hard. Furthermore, they went on a quest – a bloody, boring quest – that was more of a vacation than anything else. It lacked the thrill, the challenge – everything I look for in a fantasy book. This story was more focused on developing the Eve and Icarus relationship, and I can’t even bring myself to root for them. Everything comes easy for the main characters. Basically the overall characterization and plot felt quite shallow. I think that Icarus Rising was one of the most underwhelming books I’ve ever read this year.

While I didn’t enjoy this one, I am still open to reading other works by N.W. Moors.

 

-Jay


 

Have you read Icarus Rising yet? If you did, did you enjoy it or not and why?

Let me know your thoughts by putting them below. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

