Friday 56 + Book Beginnings: The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross

For this week I’m going to participate in two new memes: the Book Beginnings on Fridays hosted by Rose City Reader and Friday 56 by Freda’s Voice.

 

Friday 56 Rules:
1. Grab a book, any book.
2. Turn to page 56, or 56% on your eReader.
3. Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
4. Post it.
5. Add the URL to your post in the link on Freda’s most recent Friday 56 post.

 

Book Beginning Rules: Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

 


 

So for this week, I’ll be featuring:

themidnightsea

 

Book Beginning:

“The wind whistled through the high passes as we picked our way up the trail. Slow-moving shadows signified the long train of people and animals stretching ahead, but the snow was blowing too hard to make out much more than that.”

Thoughts:

Okay so.. I just won a free digital copy of this book from a giveaway. And it’s the first time I won anything so yeah… I’m happy. It’s been in my possession for a week now, but I only started reading it today, which inevitably reminded me of the reasons  why this book got my attention in the 1st place. First and foremost, I love anything to do with revenge as the theme. And this story just happens to follow a girl named Nazafareen who lives for revenge. If I understood correctly from the synopsis, Nazafareen wants to hunt down the monsters that killed her sister. And since the kingdom uses demons to hunt demons, Naz joins their ranks and even bonds herself to a demon in order to pursue her goals. The catch, however, is that she grows closer to the daeva/demon she’s bonded with, and we could probably already predict where this is all going. However, it’s still a must for me to know the whole story! Then second, I can’t stop admiring that beautiful cover. Plus I keep wondering about that symbol, which looks like a griffin but I don’t know. We’ll see when I get deeper into the book. And lastly, because I want to get to know the author of this promising book, Kat Ross.

 

56:

Darius turned to look at me for the first time. “It’s because I’m Druj.” He clutched the gold eagle-winged faravahar he wore around his neck with his good hand. An unconscious gesture I had seen many times. It was the symbol of the Prophet. The symbol of the Empire.

Thoughts:

Okay.. I am so surprised right now ‘coz I didn’t expect my question about the symbol on the cover to be answered right away. *laughs* So now we know that the golden beast on the cover is called a faravahar, it seems to hold a huge symbolism for our characters, especially to Darius. Like the narrator said, it is the symbol of the “Prophet” and the symbol of the “Empire”. And knowing for a fact that Darius is the daeva Nazafareen is bonded with, the way he clutches his pendant makes me wonder about the hidden meaning behind the gesture. It probably means nothing but still… How about you guys? Any theories?

 


 

If you want to know more about this book, just click here to visit its Goodreads page. 🙂

 

Cheers!

– Jay ♍

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friday 56 + Book Beginnings: The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross

Leave a Reply

