Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice

 

cover64561-medium

MANGA CLASSICS: Pride and Prejudice

by Jane Austen, Po Tse, Stacy King

|| Blogger’s note: I received a copy of Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice from NetGalley and Udon Entertainment in exchange for an honest review. This book is a manga adaptation of the all-time favourite classic Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and was released way, way back in September 2014. ||

MY THOUGHTS:

Unlike the Scarlet Letter, I didn’t enjoy or like this graphic novel very much. Sure, the cover and illustrations were pretty eye-catching, with its realistic setting and flowery backgrounds. Plus I do appreciate the humor injected into this story. However, I can’t bring myself to ignore the exaggerations and inaccuracies I found in this graphic novel. And I’m not talking about the differences between the adaptation and the original since I haven’t read the original one yet so I have nothing to compare it to… But no, I’m talking about the way the characters’ expressions were drawn. They were a bit exaggerated for my liking, which I found annoying and prevented me from seeing their true essence. And even though it was a short read, it felt like a lifetime before I was able to finish it. If I wasn’t curious about the outcome, I would’ve DNFed it right away. And now that I do, I wish that I did anyway. I was really disappointed by the swiftness of their reconciliation, the lack of struggle and how juvenile it all sounds. True, it took Darcy and Elizabeth a long time to get together, but considering their history, you’d think that their issues wouldn’t have been solved that easily. These things bothered me so much I wasn’t able to enjoy this manga as much as I would’ve liked to. Nonetheless, I still want to read the original book and continue reading classical adaptations like this. I think I’ll give Les Miserables a try next! 😍

 

[{( SAMPLE SCENES )}]

m1

m2

m4

m5

 

 

One thought on “Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice

Leave a Reply

