Book Review | The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows (The Orphan Queen #2)

 

🌸 A b o u t   T h e   B o o k 🌸

mirrorking-hc

 

t i t l e : The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen #2)

a u t h o r : Jodi Meadows

p u b l i s h e d : April 5, 2016 by Katherine Tegen Books

l e n g t h : 531 pages

g e n r e : Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

r a t i n g : 4.5 stars


🌸 t h e   b l u r b 🌸

“Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

In this stunning conclusion to THE ORPHAN QUEEN, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen.”

 

🌸 m y   t h o u g h t s   o n   T h e   M i r r o r   K i n g 🌸

Hi, lovelies! Today, I’d like to share with you a mini-review of a book that is part of my October Cover Color ChallengeThe Mirror King by Jodi Meadows. It’s the 2nd & last book of a duology, and I’m so pleased to tell you all that I LOVED IT! 😊😊😊

It came out as a surprise, really. After that last book The Orphan Queen (which I read over a year ago), I wasn’t at all anticipating to read its sequel. And now that I did, I don’t regret my decision. Mirror King had everything I wanted that wasn’t in The Orphan Queen. It’s more action-packed. Turns you into an emotional wreck. Leaves you so confused that you don’t know which ones to side on anymore. AND you can’t predict anything for certain. With Mirror King, the struggle is absolutely REAL. There’s a certain beauty to their resistance, and maybe I am quoting Jeanine Matthews here, but it’s absolutely true! Furthermore, I loved Tobiah and Wilhelmina’s tandem. Two Black Knives who can’t be together because of their positions. I knew there had to be something they can do to work it out.

I also grew to love some characters that I previously hadn’t cared about. Like Mel, James and even Chrysalis (who for some reason reminds me of nasty little Gollum from The Hobbit). There were some losses too, however, and I mourned for them all just as much as the other characters did. I also loved how Wilhelmina met a lot of challenges, with enemies lurking around every corner throwing one attack at her after another. The wraith, Prince Colin, Patrick, the Red Militia, the people… Wilhelmina had to fight them all off including her own inner demons. NOTHING comes easy for our heroine. And I revel in that fact. I also like the way things were concluded. I think it only seemed appropriate.

Overall, The Mirror King was an enjoyable read. It definitely wasn’t perfect but it was good enough for me. Getting reacquainted with their story and the characters has been one heck of a challenge too, but the story eventually came back to me little by little as I flipped through the pages. And even if the writing style took a while getting used to, it was all worth it in the end. 🙂

 

🌸 m y   r a t i n g 🌸

4.5 stars ✯✯✯✯❂

One thought on “Book Review | The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows (The Orphan Queen #2)

Leave a Reply

