Iron Cast by Destiny Soria || A Reader’s Perspective

📚 a b o u t   t h e   b o o k 📚

28818313

t i t l e : Iron Cast

a u t h o r : Destiny Soria

f o r m a t : eARC

s o u r c e : Netgalley

p u b l i s h e d : Oct 11, 2016 by Harry N. Abrams

l e n g t h : 384 pages (hardcover)

g e n r e : Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Romance, YA


“It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.”


From my perspective, Iron Cast is just an OKAY book. It wasn’t a standout, but the emphasis on Ada and Corrine’s friendship definitely made them one of my favourite friendships ever. I also loved how diverse and beautiful the cover was. I don’t know much about racism, but I do know that Soria did a great job executing it in her novel. And adding magic was a great move since it makes everything all the more interesting.

So, here’s what I didn’t like…

Iron Cast started off with a bang. The asylum scene had me hooked right away and I remember thinking “Hell yeah! These girls are just kickass!” However, this book didn’t hold my interest forever. The characters were bland, their adventures weren’t really amazing, and I’ve already predicted most of the twists and turns. And good lord… did I badly want to tear the romance part out of this book. There’s a little amount of it in this book, yes, but I don’t think it was necessary at all.

I also don’t know how to feel about the story’s conclusion. Part of me thinks that it’s what they should’ve done from the very start. And what happens next after their life at Cast Iron is… well, that’s something I’m more eager to know about. I can’t explain it fully well… just that I wanted to see their life after Cast Iron, how their bad experiences will shape them and how they’re going to deal with society now that their one and only protection is gone. I wanted to see their healing process and the roles their families and people outside the club will play in that significant time. And probably, this could also be the right time for romance to come in. Some occasional flashbacks would help too, so that we still get a glimpse of their past, you know – the club’s downfall, the betrayals, their cons and the first time they ever discovered that they were hemopaths. Things like that.

It’s not to say I’m dictating how the author should’ve written her novel. NO… I am merely expressing what I would’ve wanted more as a reader. I get plenty of books and movies that address racism, but none of them ever described what happens to them after they are free. I wish there was a sequel to this book, because there’s a great lot of possibilities that could still happen to the crew, and those possibilities might’ve made all the difference.

♦♦ m y   r a t i n g ♦♦

3 stars ⭐⭐⭐

5 thoughts on “Iron Cast by Destiny Soria || A Reader’s Perspective

  1. May says:

    I’m kinda disappointed that this book didn’t meet your expectations because I was really looking forward to it. Surprisingly your review makes me what to read this more because now I’m super intrigued by all that you’ve talked about. I love how we’re getting more diverse books too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jay Alonzo says:

      Totally agree with you there… but yeah I suggest you read it yourself and decide whether you like it or not. I was disappointed too that my first book of Soria’s has let me down. I really wanted to like it. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thehermitlibrarian says:

    This is on my tbr because I’ve seen it all over Twitter the last couple of weeks. I’m sorry you didn’t love it, but three stars is still pretty good. I’m curious to see how it turns out myself, especially that asylum scene in the beginning.

    Have you ever read A Madness So Discreet by any chance? It sounds like something that might catch your fancy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

