The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras || Life is But A Multiple Choice

28220719

T H E   B E S T   P O S S I B L E   A N S W E R

A u t h o r :  E. Katherine Kottaras

P u b l i c a t i o n : November 1st 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin

G e n r e : YA, Contemporary, Romance

F o r m a t : eARC

S y n o p s i s : 

AP exams—check
SAT test—check
College application—check
Date the wrong guy and ruin everything you’ve spent your whole life working for—check

Super-achiever Viviana Rabinovich-Lowe has never had room to be anything less than perfect. But her quest for perfection is derailed when her boyfriend leaks a private picture of her to the entire school—a picture only he was supposed to see. Making matters worse, her parents are getting divorced and now her perfect family is falling apart. For the first time, Vivi feels like a complete and utter failure.

Then she gets a job working at the community pool, where she meets a new group of friends who know nothing about her past. That includes Evan, a gorgeous guy who makes her want to do something she never thought she’d do again: trust. For the first time in her life, Vivi realizes she can finally be whoever she wants. But who is that? While she tries to figure it out, she learns something they never covered in her AP courses: that it’s okay to be less than perfect, because it’s our imperfections that make us who we are.

(Special thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me an e-copy of The Best Possible Answer in exchange for an honest review.)


R E V I E W

You pick up a YA contemporary book on a whim, breeze through the pages in a span of three hours, and sit there looking at empty space. What are you thinking? And which of the following statements is true?

a. If you can’t get into the college you want, find a job at the pool.

b. When in doubt, ask your mentally-ill professor/neighbor.

c.  If you got a shitty family, be shitty in turn.

d. Go for the guy your best friend likes.

e.  Never ever trust a guy to keep your nude pics to himself.

f. This book is boring.

g.  All of the above.

***

The Best Possible Answer is the first book I’ve read of Kottaras’s. The cover and synopsis gave me a good feeling, but it turns out, my expectations turned into ashes the deeper I got into the book.

At first, I was lured in by the humor. Vivianna Rabinovich-Lowe struck me as a funny character, but when problems start to unfold, she loses all her sparkling wit and the readers are bombarded instead with her endless drama and pitiful internal monologues. I can’t find it in me to sympathize with her, even though I could relate to her need for perfection and over-achievingness.

She annoyed me so much, especially when the boy Evan came into the picture. I mean, seriously? You would fight with your best friend over some guy you just met? Sure, she kept her feelings from the start to give way to her friend, but I couldn’t accept that either. It just strikes me wrong. She and Sammie were said to be friends since long ago, so doesn’t that mean they have a certain degree of trust towards each other? Why would you keep pretending you’ve no interest in your friend’s crush? To me, that just sounds completely plastic.

Also, why did she have to cover up her father’s secret from her mother and sister too? I just can’t believe it’s for their own sake. Because if Vivi truly cared for her family, she wouldn’t have let her father’s charades go on for too long. Honestly, she is so frustrating. I think the only thing I love about Vivianna is her name.

My point is Vivianna is totally off-character. And she has almost all the problems a teenager could have – leaked nude photos, parents getting divorce, love triangles, failed college plans, etc. I would’ve appreciated it if the author elaborated on each issue more, but *sighs* she only managed to scrape the surface of it. I couldn’t care for the characters, and I certainly didn’t feel anything for the story.

But for all its flaws and complications, I still got the message that the book is trying to deliver us. In every situation, there is no perfect solution – no perfect answer. We just have to take the best possible course of action.

All in all, I can’t highly recommend The Best Possible Answer to everyone. It’s less fun and more on drama. But I could certainly see how it would appeal to our younger readers, hence the YA. It’s a short, quick read too, but I likely won’t read it ever again.


R A T I N G

Poor (☆☆☆)


Have you guys read this book yet? Do you agree with me or not? Let me know your thoughts below! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Best Possible Answer by E. Katherine Kottaras || Life is But A Multiple Choice

Leave a Reply

