It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover || My 8 Naked Truths

27362503

I T   E N D S   W I T H   U S

A u t h o r : Colleen Hoover

P u b l i c a t i o n : August 2, 2016 by Atria Books

G e n r e : Romance, New Adult, Contemporary

S y n o p s i s : Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.


R E V I E W

“It stops here. With me and you. It ends with us.”

Hello again, lovelies! Thanks for stopping by.

Naked truths are a primary feature in this novel written by CoHo. Therefore, I’ll deliver this review as well in naked-truth-style. So, without further ado, here are my naked truths:

1. I think Colleen definitely outdid herself this time. Her latest novel, It Ends With Us, is truly a great masterpiece.

2. You can tell right away that it’s special – unlike any of her other books. You see, of all the novels I’ve read written by her, I think It Ends With Us is the only one that will stay with me forever. It’s hard to forget that kind of story and that alone is what makes it a great book.

3. I was already caught from the moment I read that dedication. It intrigued me, to say the least, and I wondered what she meant by that. Realization dawned on me as I read through Lily’s story, and I was heartbroken and crying even after the story had been concluded.

4. And just when I thought I couldn’t be moved any more than that, I saw the author’s note and wept some more.

5. I was perfectly satisfied by how the conflict was resolved. It made perfect sense and it saved their relationship from total ruin.

6. I should also mention the cleverness behind that cover. I think the crushed petals perfectly symbolize Lily and the abuse she went through. Besides, it doesn’t hurt to look at too. I would definitely want it on my bookshelf.

7. I was initially apprehensive over reading this book, not just because of all the hype surrounding it, but also partly because of the disappointment I felt towards CoHo’s previous books. Turns out I need not have worried at all, because It Ends With Us was absolutely great and more! It restored all my faith in CoHo’s writing skills.

8. Heartfelt, endearing and utterly realistic, It Ends With Us is a book you should definitely read right away!


Favorite Quotes

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“He pulls back to look down at me and when he sees my tears, he brings his hands up to my cheeks. “In the future… if by some miracle you ever find yourself in the position to fall in love again… fall in love with me.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“Just because someone hurts you doesn’t mean you can simply stop loving them. It’s not a person’s actions that hurt the most. It’s the love. If there was no love attached to the action, the pain would be a little easier to bear.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“Fifteen seconds. That’s all it takes to completely change everything about a person. Fifteen.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“Naked truths aren’t always pretty.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“I feel like everyone fakes who they really are, when deep down we’re all equal amounts of screwed up. Some of us are just better at hiding it than others.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“Just because we didn’t end up on the same wave, doesn’t mean we aren’t still a part of the same ocean.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“And as hard as this choice is, we break the pattern before the pattern breaks us.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“You can stop swimming now, Lily. We finally reached the shore.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“Maybe love isn’t something that comes full circle. It just ebbs and flows, in and out, just like the people in our lives”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“I’ll keep pretending to swim, when really all I’m doing is floating. Barely keeping my head above water.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“You are my wife. I’m supposed to be the one who protects you from the monsters. I’m not supposed to be one.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“Sometimes even grown women need their mother’s comfort so we can just take a break from having to be strong all the time.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“Our eyes, locked together, speak more naked truths than our mouths ever have.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“You’re the most important part of my life, Lily. I want to be what brings you happiness. Not what causes you to hurt.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“But then this morning I had to tell him goodbye. And he held me and kissed me so much, I thought I might die if he let go.
But I didn’t die. Because he let go and here I am. Still living. Still breathing.
Just barely.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us


R A T I N G

Outstanding (★★★★★)

4 thoughts on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover || My 8 Naked Truths

  1. Tiana says:

    Such a lovely review! I have heard little things here and there about It Ends With Us, but this review has truly convinced me! I really need to get a copy and read this book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

