Bitter Sweet Love by Michael Faudet || Tackling Poetry

30227846

B I T T E R   S W E E T   L O V E

A u t h o r : Michael Faudet

P u b l i s h e d : December 1st 2016 by Andrews McMeel Publishing

G e n r e : Poetry, Romance, Fiction, Adult

F o r m a t : eARC

D e s c r i p t i o n : Bitter Sweet Love is the much-anticipated second collection of internationally best-selling poet Michael Faudet, author of Dirty Pretty Things, a finalist in the 2015 Goodreads Readers Choice Awards.

Michael Faudet’s whimsical and often erotic writing has captured the hearts and minds of literally thousands of readers from around the world. He paints vivid pictures with intricate words and explores the compelling themes of love, loss, relationships, and sex. All beautifully captured in poetry, prose, quotes, and little short stories.

(**Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me a copy of Bitter Sweet Love in exchange for an honest review.)


My Thoughts:

Fan of poetry or not, I think anyone who reads this collection would like it: well.. not entirely but at least some parts. Personally, I don’t ever care about poems unless someone makes me a recommendation, or if a teacher assigned it to our class to read. In this case, my friend and fellow book blogger Jacquie recommended it to me and I’m grateful that she did because I came to like Bitter Sweet Love better than I expected. And the poems really fit the themes too.

Here are some few of my favorite lines that I think are worth quoting:

  • “When we plant weeds in a beautiful garden, it is often tears of regret that water them.”
  • “I have never felt the touch of falling snow,” she said. “But like love, I know it exists. Somewhere.”
  • “Lost is a lovely place to find yourself.”
  • “Always fight for love—walk barefoot across the jagged shards of a broken heart but never become its victim.”
  • “We all drown a little,” she whispered. “That’s how we learn to swim.”
  • “Love is a rare rose, the perfume intoxicating—picked by fingers oblivious to the thorns . . .”
  • “I’ve always longed to turn the last page of a romantic novel but it seems my life is destined to remain a book of short stories.”
  • “Picking up the pieces of a broken relationship is like gathering
    up shards of glass with bare hands and eyes closed.”
  • “We all make mistakes. Mine was falling madly in love and forgetting to pack a parachute.”

I’ve yet to read Michael’s Dirty, Pretty, Things but I hear that it’s just as good. In the meantime, I’m open to any more poetry suggestions and recommendations, just comment them down below. 😉


R A T I N G

Exceeds Expectations (★★★★✰)

Leave a Reply

